Heavy cart horse

Posted: February 8, 2013 in Sculpting

carthorse

This shows the process of bulking up wire to make the legs on a horse. I’m using milliput (standard grey) for several reasons, milliput sets harder than green – which I want for casting, and also it just blends and smooths very easily.

Dsc01100

Having added wire for the leg armature (I’m using a fairly soft wire that I found in a DIY store ‘Homebase’) the muscle masses are added simply and then shaped using rubber tip clayshaper and a licked finger to blend into the body.

Dsc01103

Dsc01104

I’ve done horses often enough now to bend the wire fairly accurately by eye, but for beginners my tip which I still use when making a horse in a different scale is to google for an image of a horse from the side and also for a horse skeleton image – and print those out at the desired size. You can the trace the wire on the paper to match the legs on the image.

Dsc01105

Dsc01108

Dsc01107

Dsc01106

Dsc01101

Dsc01102

Comments
  1. Tankred says:

    Really good tips in this article. I will give Milliput another try.

  2. eBobminis says:

    Milliput handles very differently from greenstuff – but for this job I like it, I especially like that to add a muscle to the shoulder for example – you can simply add a bit of putty – lick your finger and smooth it in – very easily – and it sets hard very fast under a warm lamp.

  3. Marc says:

    Your horses really are great and this is the best one to date! Excellent stuff and helpfull article-thank you!

Leave a Reply

